Driver's Licenses

Wisconsin law requires Wisconsin residents to obtain a Wisconsin driver's license immediately upon establishment of Wisconsin residency. There is no grace period. It is unlawful for a Wisconsin resident to operate a motor vehicle in Wisconsin with an out-of-state driver's license. Driver's licenses are issued by the Wisconsin Department of Transportation. Please visit their website for complete information on how to obtain a Wisconsin driver's license. It is necessary to have proof of Wisconsin residency, the DOT website has complete information on how to prove residency.

Driver's License Service Centers
The Department of Transportation operates driver's license service centers in Hudson (Saint Croix County) and Ellsworth (Pierce County). The DOT website features driving directions and maps to the Hudson and Ellsworth service centers.

Hudson Service Center
The Hudson Service Center is located in the Hudson Business Park:
2100 O'Neil Road
Suite 100
Hudson, WI 54016

Monday, Tuesday, and Friday
8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
8 a.m. - 4 p.m.
10 a.m. - 5:30 p.m.

Ellsworth Service Center
The Ellsworth Service Center is located:
179 E. Main St.
Ellsworth, WI 54011

Tuesday and Thursday
7 a.m. - 5 p.m.